Fast Pitch (fastpitchnetworking.com) are dirty rotten spammers. I got an email to my business email address today, stating that a “colleague has invited you to connect on Fast Pitch”. I get emails from valid networks like Linked In all the time and it looked pretty non-spam, so I read it.

The very first thing I look for in an email like this is the “who”. WHO invited me to your network? So then I tried the little “unsubscribe” link at the bottom. Guess what. If you don’t have an actual account, it won’t let you remove yourself. To make matters worse, they also emailed one of my personal accounts (at a VERY old address).
See that number at the bottom? I’m going to call it and demand they remove both of my email addresses. I think you should, too. Call them up and just tell them that they’re dirty spammers and that they suck. For good measure, I’m also going to call their ISP. Oh, and just so Bill Jula can get some spam, too, bill.jula@fastpitchnetworking.com
Sports Promotion Network
416 36th Street NE
Bradenton, FL 34208
USDomain Name: FASTPITCHNETWORKING.COM
Administrative Contact :
Jula, Bill
bill.jula@fastpitchnetworking.com
[removed per Bill's polite request]
Bradenton, FL 34208
US
Phone: [removed per Bill's polite request]Technical Contact :
Network Solutions, LLC.
customerservice@networksolutions.com
13861 Sunrise Valley Drive
Herndon, VA 20171
US
Phone: 1-888-642-9675
Fax: 571-434-4620Record expires on 22-Jul-2009
Record created on 22-Jul-2003
Database last updated on 12-Jun-2007Domain servers in listed order: Manage DNS
ASLAN.IJ.NET 207.22.166.2
NS2.IJ.NET 207.22.166.61
Make sure to Digg, Stumble, Mixx, etc this post. I HATE spammers.
UPDATE (06.11.2008): Today, I got the following email from Bill:
Joe,
Hi… Hey, sorry about the email you had received from us a few months ago. I just came across your blog post. I’m not sure how you ended up on our mailer. We have a number of ways our members upload and invite other people into our system. Perhaps our marketing team got a little excited as well.
I was wondering… would it be too much to ask if you could take down that blog post about me and my home address? Afterall, posting this kind of personal information also affects my wife, kids, etc…making it very easy for anyone searching for me to locate that information. I’m sure you understand my concerns.
Again… sorry about the email. Beyond the apology, if there’s anything else I can do for you, let me know…
Bill
I definitely understand, so I’ve modified the whois information that I listed and suggested that he modify the actual record to remove sensitive information. Although it took months for him to find the post and react, it is nice to see that he’s being pro-active about it. Ultimately, what I want is to not get spammed. If you run a company, do some due diligence on your internet marketing company to avoid egg on your face like this.
















