JoeTech.com


### Contact | About Joe Tech | Advertise | Get Reviewed | Disclosure | Tools
Search:

Fast Pitch Spams for Attention

Posted in Computers by Joe Tech on the January 9th, 2008

Fast Pitch (fastpitchnetworking.com) are dirty rotten spammers. I got an email to my business email address today, stating that a “colleague has invited you to connect on Fast Pitch”. I get emails from valid networks like Linked In all the time and it looked pretty non-spam, so I read it.

Fast Picth sucks!

The very first thing I look for in an email like this is the “who”. WHO invited me to your network? So then I tried the little “unsubscribe” link at the bottom. Guess what. If you don’t have an actual account, it won’t let you remove yourself. To make matters worse, they also emailed one of my personal accounts (at a VERY old address).

See that number at the bottom? I’m going to call it and demand they remove both of my email addresses. I think you should, too. Call them up and just tell them that they’re dirty spammers and that they suck. For good measure, I’m also going to call their ISP. Oh, and just so Bill Jula can get some spam, too, bill.jula@fastpitchnetworking.com

Sports Promotion Network
416 36th Street NE
Bradenton, FL 34208
US

Domain Name: FASTPITCHNETWORKING.COM

Administrative Contact :
Jula, Bill
bill.jula@fastpitchnetworking.com
[removed per Bill's polite request]
Bradenton, FL 34208
US
Phone: [removed per Bill's polite request]

Technical Contact :
Network Solutions, LLC.
customerservice@networksolutions.com
13861 Sunrise Valley Drive
Herndon, VA 20171
US
Phone: 1-888-642-9675
Fax: 571-434-4620

Record expires on 22-Jul-2009
Record created on 22-Jul-2003
Database last updated on 12-Jun-2007

Domain servers in listed order: Manage DNS

ASLAN.IJ.NET 207.22.166.2
NS2.IJ.NET 207.22.166.61

Make sure to Digg, Stumble, Mixx, etc this post. I HATE spammers.

UPDATE (06.11.2008): Today, I got the following email from Bill:

Joe,

Hi… Hey, sorry about the email you had received from us a few months ago. I just came across your blog post. I’m not sure how you ended up on our mailer. We have a number of ways our members upload and invite other people into our system. Perhaps our marketing team got a little excited as well.

I was wondering… would it be too much to ask if you could take down that blog post about me and my home address? Afterall, posting this kind of personal information also affects my wife, kids, etc…making it very easy for anyone searching for me to locate that information. I’m sure you understand my concerns.

Again… sorry about the email. Beyond the apology, if there’s anything else I can do for you, let me know…

Bill

I definitely understand, so I’ve modified the whois information that I listed and suggested that he modify the actual record to remove sensitive information. Although it took months for him to find the post and react, it is nice to see that he’s being pro-active about it. Ultimately, what I want is to not get spammed. If you run a company, do some due diligence on your internet marketing company to avoid egg on your face like this.

Related posts:

  1. How Fast Is Your Windows BootUp?
  2. Fast, hybrid and about 35k : Toyota FT-HS Rocket
  3. 5 Easy Ways To End MySpace Spam
  4. How to Move a Web Site with Minimal Down Time
  5. Preparing for Thanksgiving with Technology
If you liked this Joe Tech article, subscribe to the RSS feed for daily updates.

Submit this story to:

Post comment as twitter logo facebook logo
Sort: Newest | Oldest

Agree with Charles and all. I made the nmistake of signing up to try it for three months,; but marked my calendar way before the 3 month renewal to cancel early. Well, they billed my account earlier than they said, never answered my e-mails or the numerous messages I left. I reported it to my credit card company as a fraud so they cannot rebill.. otherwise.. he's just abig crook! Never even got a reply.....

I'm glad you left his contact info on here. He spammed a lot of us through O'Reilly's Web 2.0 Expo, with offers and the like which never saw the light of day.

Even if it does affect his wife and kids (even if he has either), he should think about that before being such a douche-bag.

I made the mistake of signing up, thought it would be good to have a stronger net presence with backlinks and yes they do show up on google when you create a profile and they do market it to some degree. Cost wise its a total sham, but the real crime occurs when you want to downgrade. You can only "call" their special number which although you can leave a message, you aint getting a return call! The "network" of proffessionals is nothing more than a place for spammers to get together and spam your inbox with as much as possible.
I just created a blog today, where folks can comment to say they have the same problem downgrading...I also left an open invitation for an attorney to contact me. Hopefully, when the blog gets out there it will generate enough interest to get them to make downgrading actually possible!
I'll post a link here to the blog I made if you'll let me. Otherwise, just search blogspot for blogs about fastpitch- it'll show up eventually,lol.
I would like to think my blog will change the crappy and obviously ill conceived website that is daily ripping me off and probably others!

I got the exact same annoying spam message!

I hate spam with a passion. Great job exposing them and good luck actually getting through to them!

That's down right dirty!!! Give it to them hard!!

That kicks #$%. I usually just let my spam filters catch emails like this, which is why it takes a minute to download my email. I wish I had taken action like this a while back.

Damn spammers, I receive so much email I don't want it really winds me.

Good luck with contacting them.

Take care and Happy new year.

Never heard of these guys, but they're definately spammers.

Nice,I'll make sure and keep an eye out. Thanks for the heads up!

Sheila: It's more of a grip than a warning. I mean. I don't think they'll try to phish your passwords to other sites, but then again, I don't trust anyone who markets in this manner.

Jason: There have been claims for a LONG time of Godaddy doing the same. Just search through the Discussnames.com forums. I don't buy and sell that much anymore, and I've never experienced it, but I don't think anyone should use NS, anyway. They're so 1995 and they suck. They're the reason someone was able to snake NoDomain.com away from me.

I haven't received any emails from then thank goodness. But thanks for the warning, I will be on the lookout for them.

Phillip: I noticed the one you wrote about and I think that's fraud when you're selling ad space and justifying inflated rates based on faked statistics. I hope whoever advertised with them demands proof of readership.

I also get emails from them. AARRRGG!
Well I caught someone similar out:
http://www.affiliatelounge.co.za/articles/offbeat/...

Screw those guys. I hate spam.
Have you read about the Network Solutions BS? They register every domain searched on so you HAVE to purchase it though them!

http://reddit.com/search?q=network+solutions

Sponsor



Friends and Sponsors


Top Commenters


Events

Check back soon

Sponsors

Dedicated server hosting by Codero

FREE SSL

  • Advertise Here
 
Popular Posts
 • How to Crack the Account Password on Any Operating System
 • How To Send An Anonymous Text Or MMS Message
 • How To Replace A Dell Inspiron Laptop Heat Sink And Fan Assembly
 
More Popular Posts
 • 5 Geeky Ways to Say “I Love You” on Valentine’s Day
 • My Sony Vaio VGN-SZ430N Hard Drive Crashed and How I Fixed It
 • Swiss Mini Gun is Tiny, Lethal, and Expensive
 
© 2006 - 2012

Joe Colburn