JoeTech.com
### Home | Contact | About Joe Tech | Advertise | Get Reviewed | Tools ###

Fast Pitch Spams for Attention

Posted in Computers by User ImageJoe on the January 9th, 2008

Fast Pitch (fastpitchnetworking.com) are dirty rotten spammers. I got an email to my business email address today, stating that a “colleague has invited you to connect on Fast Pitch”. I get emails from valid networks like Linked In all the time and it looked pretty non-spam, so I read it.

Fast Picth sucks!

The very first thing I look for in an email like this is the “who”. WHO invited me to your network? So then I tried the little “unsubscribe” link at the bottom. Guess what. If you don’t have an actual account, it won’t let you remove yourself. To make matters worse, they also emailed one of my personal accounts (at a VERY old address).

See that number at the bottom? I’m going to call it and demand they remove both of my email addresses. I think you should, too. Call them up and just tell them that they’re dirty spammers and that they suck. For good measure, I’m also going to call their ISP. Oh, and just so Bill Jula can get some spam, too, bill.jula@fastpitchnetworking.com

Sports Promotion Network
416 36th Street NE
Bradenton, FL 34208
US

Domain Name: FASTPITCHNETWORKING.COM

Administrative Contact :
Jula, Bill
bill.jula@fastpitchnetworking.com
[removed per Bill's polite request]
Bradenton, FL 34208
US
Phone: [removed per Bill's polite request]

Technical Contact :
Network Solutions, LLC.
customerservice@networksolutions.com
13861 Sunrise Valley Drive
Herndon, VA 20171
US
Phone: 1-888-642-9675
Fax: 571-434-4620

Record expires on 22-Jul-2009
Record created on 22-Jul-2003
Database last updated on 12-Jun-2007

Domain servers in listed order: Manage DNS

ASLAN.IJ.NET 207.22.166.2
NS2.IJ.NET 207.22.166.61

Make sure to Digg, Stumble, Mixx, etc this post. I HATE spammers.

UPDATE (06.11.2008): Today, I got the following email from Bill:

Joe,

Hi… Hey, sorry about the email you had received from us a few months ago. I just came across your blog post. I’m not sure how you ended up on our mailer. We have a number of ways our members upload and invite other people into our system. Perhaps our marketing team got a little excited as well.

I was wondering… would it be too much to ask if you could take down that blog post about me and my home address? Afterall, posting this kind of personal information also affects my wife, kids, etc…making it very easy for anyone searching for me to locate that information. I’m sure you understand my concerns.

Again… sorry about the email. Beyond the apology, if there’s anything else I can do for you, let me know…

Bill

I definitely understand, so I’ve modified the whois information that I listed and suggested that he modify the actual record to remove sensitive information. Although it took months for him to find the post and react, it is nice to see that he’s being pro-active about it. Ultimately, what I want is to not get spammed. If you run a company, do some due diligence on your internet marketing company to avoid egg on your face like this.

Rate this:
2.5
If you liked this Joe Tech article, subscribe to the RSS feed for daily updates.

Submit this story to: [ del.icio.us] [ Stumble it!] [Add to Mixx!]

14 Responses to 'Fast Pitch Spams for Attention'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Fast Pitch Spams for Attention'.

  1. no imageTara (Who am I?) said,

    on January 9th, 2008 at 11:15 am

    interesting!

    Rate this:
    2.9

  2. on January 9th, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Screw those guys. I hate spam.
    Have you read about the Network Solutions BS? They register every domain searched on so you HAVE to purchase it though them!

    http://reddit.com/search?q=network+solutions

    Rate this:
    2.9
  3. no imagePhillip (Who am I?) said,

    on January 9th, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    I also get emails from them. AARRRGG!
    Well I caught someone similar out:
    http://www.affiliatelounge.co.za/articles/offbeat/feedburner-hacked-or-just-plain-cheating/

    Rate this:
    3.0
  4. no imagejoe (Who am I?) said,

    on January 9th, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Phillip: I noticed the one you wrote about and I think that’s fraud when you’re selling ad space and justifying inflated rates based on faked statistics. I hope whoever advertised with them demands proof of readership.

    Rate this:
    2.5
  5. no imageShelia (Who am I?) said,

    on January 9th, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    I haven’t received any emails from then thank goodness. But thanks for the warning, I will be on the lookout for them.

    Rate this:
    2.9
  6. no imagejoe (Who am I?) said,

    on January 10th, 2008 at 4:18 am

    Jason: There have been claims for a LONG time of Godaddy doing the same. Just search through the Discussnames.com forums. I don’t buy and sell that much anymore, and I’ve never experienced it, but I don’t think anyone should use NS, anyway. They’re so 1995 and they suck. They’re the reason someone was able to snake NoDomain.com away from me.

    Rate this:
    2.5
  7. no imagejoe (Who am I?) said,

    on January 10th, 2008 at 4:19 am

    Sheila: It’s more of a grip than a warning. I mean. I don’t think they’ll try to phish your passwords to other sites, but then again, I don’t trust anyone who markets in this manner.

    Rate this:
    2.5
  8. no imageMommie (Who am I?) said,

    on January 10th, 2008 at 9:54 am

    Nice,I’ll make sure and keep an eye out. Thanks for the heads up!

    Rate this:
    2.9
  9. no imageLeon (Who am I?) said,

    on January 10th, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    Never heard of these guys, but they’re definately spammers.

    Rate this:
    2.9
  10. no imageAdrian (Who am I?) said,

    on January 11th, 2008 at 9:32 am

    Damn spammers, I receive so much email I don’t want it really winds me.

    Good luck with contacting them.

    Take care and Happy new year.

    Rate this:
    2.8

  11. on January 11th, 2008 at 9:57 am

    That kicks #$%. I usually just let my spam filters catch emails like this, which is why it takes a minute to download my email. I wish I had taken action like this a while back.

    Rate this:
    3.0

  12. on January 11th, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    That’s down right dirty!!! Give it to them hard!!

    Rate this:
    2.9
  13. no imageKristen (Who am I?) said,

    on January 11th, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    I hate spam with a passion. Great job exposing them and good luck actually getting through to them!

    Rate this:
    2.9
  14. no imageNatalie (Who am I?) said,

    on January 11th, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    I got the exact same annoying spam message!

    Rate this:
    2.9

Leave a Reply

Search JoeTech.com


Meet Joe Tech

No events scheduled.

Subscribe




Subscribe by Email





Friends


Tweets @ Me


Archives


Sponsors


Latest news of the domain name industry

Entrecard Slots!


Free Ad Slots!


Bla.st



 
Popular Posts
 • Nine Inch Nails - Music 2.0
 • How to Protect Your Private Inf...
 • VentureOne 100mph Hybrid Looks Good
 • How To Replace A Dell Inspiron Laptop Heat Sink And Fan Assembly
 • 76 Web Ranked Candidates For President
 
 
Copyright © 2008

Joe Colburn
 
FireStats icon Powered by FireStats